Feb. 16th, 2017

mahounadegata: (Default)


Okay wow wooah woaawowwee

I totally LOVED it like, I can't even reiterate.

Hmm I wonder where I start.

OKay.

I'm actually a big fan of Filipino teleserye/telenovela although I don't really watch them from start to finish but even though I do enjoy watching them and guessing what happens next, I get really annoyed when I guess right... even to the point of guessing what exactly the certain character will say in a certain situation. Thus, my thirst for non-cliched "teleserye" was born.

And that's when I started watching American series, and ever since I got into Arashi, Japanese dramas. I haven't watched a lot yet (just two, actually, SekaiMuzu being the second one) but I have heard of a few from friends who enjoy watching them, and based from what they tell me, the plots aren't really that different. I have also seen some (if not a lot) shoujo anime to know how a normal "love story" works.

There are lotsa plots like SekaiMuzu, especially since HanaDan (which I have not watched, not even the Korean and Taiwanese versions) became famous, this "rich arrogant guy falls in love with simple strong willed girl" have been sprouting EVERYWHERE. Don't get me wrong. I like love stories, okay, but I avoid them like the plague because I tend to feel a lot because I'm a hopeless romantic and I turn into a faucet when I watch them. Either that, or I just roll my eyes and exit out of whatever I'm watching. Am I making sense here? Do you get what I mean? Like, overly dramatic "I love you and I cant live without you, you are my everything" put me off so bad. Anything that's too floofy or too sparkly and doesn't even have a hint of comedy or angst turns me off so bad. Anything that's to ideal or too fairy tale like, I dislike. I dunno I don't think I'm getting my point across.

But anyway...


What I really love about this series is that:

Ohno's character here is perf. The role Samejima Reiji really suited him. I love how Reiji is such a prim and proper ass hole who is a perfectionist but he doesn't really know how to deal with women and with people in general outside of work. I really love the fact that it wasn't highlighted that girls go after him, too. The stubborn side in Reiji's character is very annoying, yet it's also very refreshing and adorable.

And Haru oh my god, she is perfect. Her character Shibayama Misaki is perfect. I have never seen such a perfect female lead character before. I feel like I've found the Holy Grail of all lead female characters. Like, she's everything I've been looking for. Like, when Reiji tells her sweet nothings she has the best come backs to them that'll slam him. She doesn't get affected by naivete, she's not overly dramatic, she's level headed and doesn't even cry cry and damn her fashion is great! A female lead who appreciates it when the man she likes tells her that he'll only cheer her on but not help her. Amazing. I also really loved how she wanted Reiji to kiss her and she even tried to sneak a kiss without looking desperate. And when they started living together, I love how she confronted him very calmly about home-y things. Like, no-nonsense, no-drama. I like a good woman who can put an arrogant man in his place, hahaha. Truly an ii onna.

I also really loved Ishigami-san and Muraoki Maiko, Samejima Reiji's driver and secretary respectively. Muraoki is BEST GIRL FRIEND EVER. I mean, here's your best girl who is very polite to you, likes you no matter what ka-shittan you do, scolds you when you're you're being a delusional idiot, says the right things when you're sad and basically gets you through the day. Though I would've wished she did end up with Wada. Ishigami-san is kind of like the assistant best friend who supports Reiji but doesn't really scold him, unlike Muraoki. Hahaha.

Scenes with Reiji's dad kinda teared me a bit, because well, I have daddy issues. LOL.


It was a roller coaster of feelings and had me feeling really fuwa-fuwa in a non-rolling eyeballs way and really frustrated, like I needed to pause multiple times at certain episodes because I couldn't take it and needed to like swear at nothing in particular or hit a pillow. Hahahaha.

SekaiMuzu is the drink of fresh spring water after a whole night at a bar that only serves awfully mixed hard drinks. It's like waking up early to see the sunrise after eight hours of sleep after a week of barely sleeping. That's how refreshing this series feels to me.

To end this useless review, I'm so happy I got to finish this. It's bittersweet and reminds me of Honey and Clover (the anime, and not Sho's movie because I haven't finished watching that either) in a way, although it ended very differently than the latter. The transition of the story is also very smooth, and although it was only 10 episodes, I don't feel it was rushed. The character development is great, the music suites the feel of the story just right and ofc the ending song I Seek is sang by our beloved group of old men, Arashi. It's probs one of the series I will say is my fave and will recommend to other friends who look for a refreshing adult love story.


***edit: wow i completely forgot to mention Shochan. Lol. but yeah it's a known thing that he's there. So, it's not a spoiler if it's obvious. lol

Profile

mahounadegata: (Default)
Jou

January 2018

S M T W T F S
  123 456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios